The golf course was designed by G.A.Lefroy in 1893. The Club house was built a cost of RM($)10,000 and was opened the following year. It consisted of a reading room, a billiard room, a card room, a large dining hall, and five residential chambers and at the rear was a croquet pitch.
The members of the TNC started playing golf on a course near the club, and the enthusiastic gold players formed the earliest golf club in the country and named it "The Perak Golf Club" and had its office in TNC. It is now the second oldest golf club in South East Asia.
It boasts an affiliation to 70 foreign and local clubs and was the only golf Club to be affiliated to the earliest golf club in the world, St Andrew's Golf Club in Scotland.
The early development of the club was due to H.L.H. Tate who was the Club Secretary in 1903 and to honour him for his contribution to the club, a room was named as "The Tate Room" after him.